2nd January 2012 – New year ticks

Posted: January 4, 2012 in Bird Watching, Rochdale, Rossendale, Twitching
Tags: ,

Happy new year to all you readers.

A delayed start to the new year – I couldn’t motivate myself to get out yesterday because of the heavy rain. Still a day later the weather is dry, but bitterly cold.

Castleshawe Res, Delph – On the upper res a Great Northern Diver starts my year of on a good foot – actually I stayed in the car and ticked-it off. Set off to Leighton Moss, but later I changed my mind after hearing that the motorway is shut near Kendal – bugger. I decide to go do the Southport area.

Martin Mere WWT – 1st day open, and it’s packed with people. I managed a couple of Marsh Harriers, and a record count of European White Fronted Goose 56, and a few Barnacles mixed with the farsends of Pink Footed Geese. Odd watching a Lesser Black Backed Gull trying to drown a Female Mandarin. It wouldn’t allow the duck to get a breath with dive bombing it. The gull got bored after a few minutes and drifted off.

Southport  – A Glaucous Gull has been showing well for a few days now. As I haven’t seen one for about 15 years, I had to try for it. So I get to the carpark and chat with the other listers. I just had to wait and it will come. It did after 10 minutes. We walked to within 50 ft of the bird. What a huge gull. Somebody quips that where it comes from it doesn’t meet humans, so allowing us close views. Close by a flock of 120 Twite ( a bird I didn’t get last year). A Peregrine bombed into a flock of knot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A freezing cold wind. But I managed a couple of good birds – 55 in total.

Leave a Reply

